Guacamole Chicken Salad

IMG_8919

Avocados are my addiction. They go with everything. The perfect topping, mix-in, and ingredient substitute, I probably consume an avocado a day. However, with such a busy schedule lately I have denied one of my favorite food the much needed attention it deserves. With 3 avocados on the verge of spoiling and begging to be consumed, my culinary skills needed to be put to use. I dial up my girl Jessica Gardner and we decide a girls date night needs to go down.

First things first, I must somehow narrow down my recipes to best utilize the avocados and supplies in my pantry. Instantly my love for all things tex-mex have me thinking guacamole. It is one of those foods I could eat every meal, every day, lick the bowl clean, and still be dying for more. Even better is homemade guac because all the fresh flavors shine through and you feel no shame in eating a gallon size bowl in sweats, while dropping the occasional bite down your shirt (Guilty!). However, I realize it is a mere side dish to all those outside of Texas, so I contemplate a main dish of more substance. I think to the chicken breast sitting in my fridge and imagine a tasty, cold chicken salad to celebrate the start of spring. That’s when a siren goes off in my head and the words GUACAMOLE CHICKEN SALAD flash before my eyes. Two of my guilty pleasures combined to make a sinful, yet healthy treat. Things just escalated to a whole new level.

Now usually when I make chicken salad, my go-to is my mom’s classic recipe.  A refreshing bowl of shredded chicken, taragon, italian spices, greek yogurt, mayo, grapes, and crushed pecans for some crunch, the chicken is only lightly coated with the dressing as to not drown out the flavors or weigh down the dish. I drool just thinking about it. Nonetheless, it is definitely a Mexican kind of night, so I am excited to step outside my comfort zone and mix things up.

Not necessarily following any set recipe or sticking to any set measurements, I have fun with the different combinations and possibilities. The meal comes together with ease in only 45 minutes. It’s a simple dish, but will have guests oohing and ahhing like you spent hours slaving away in the kitchen.

Just as I take the salad out of the fridge, Jess arrives with her famous veggie stew and roaring appetite. Tossing any table-side manners I may have out the window, I dive in before the table is even set.  From the first bite of guacamole chicken salad and tortilla chip, I immediately know this recipe is here to stay. Moving in as one of my all-time top home-cooked meals, I find it hard to stop scarfing down this perfect mixture of veggies, spices, meat, and textures. Jess’s veggie stew was a great addition to the meal, but it is clear to everyone that the guacamole chicken salad is the star of this party.

Here is the recipe to this delicious dish:

Guacamole Chicken Salad 

IMG_2656

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of chicken breast (I used about 4 medium size)
  • 2 dried basil leaves
  • 3 ripe avocados
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1 lime
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 canned corn, drained (optional)
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 cup pico de gallo salsa
  • salt and pepper to your liking
  • plenty of tortilla chips

Directions:

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil and drop the chicken breasts in with the basil leaves. You will leave the chicken in to cook for about 45 minutes.
  2. While the chicken is boiling, slice the avocados in half, remove the pits, and scoop the flesh out into a large bowl using a spoon. Mash the avocado with the spoon or a potato masher. Throw in the tomato, red onion, paprika, chili powder, garlic, corn, cilantro. Stir to combine.b2a66130883511e2a3ff22000a1fb762_7
  3. The chicken breasts will start to float towards the top of the water when they are cooked through, but after the 45 minutes take the breasts out and shred them. You can do this one of two ways. Option 1.) If you happen to have a kitchen-aid stand mixer then you are in for a treat because I will share my best kept secret with you. While the breasts are still hot, throw them in the mixing bowl two at a time with the paddle attachment and let the mixer go at a medium to high speed. The chicken will shred perfectly and seamlessly within a couple minutes. Option 2.) For those of you missing out on life with a kitchen-aid mixer I am sorry, but you must put in the time and manual labor of shredding the chicken with a couple forks. Be sure to do this when they are cooled though, so you don’t burn yourself.Shredded-Chicken1
  4. Once the chicken is all shredded and cooled, toss it in with the guacamole in the large bowl. Squeeze the lime over top and mix it in with pico de gallo salsa. I really just eyeball the salsa to my liking, so that it isn’t too runny, but adds some flavor and texture. Shake in some salt and pepper and stir everything up real good. Cover the chicken salad to chill for at least an hour before serving, so that everything combines and sets well.
  5. The last thing to do before stuffing your face full of utter glory is whip out the finest bag of tortilla chips you can find, throw on your sombrero, and have napkins on hand for any spillage that may occur during the pig-out session about to take place.

c5284d9a34d011e29c2822000a1fbe4c_7