Getting Acquainted With London

proxy.storify.com

It didn’t actually hit until my last hug goodbye to my parents before crossing over to the terminal, that I was actually going by myself to another country on another continent without knowing anyone. I mean this was kind of a big deal. So much could go wrong, but so many amazing things could go right…

IMG_3020

The flight to London was no dreamboat ride, but I did feel pretty classy in my little first class nest. Momma Bodden knows how to hook a girl up as I made myself right at home, fully reclining my seat 5A into a flatbed with its accompanying queen-size pillow and duvet comforter. The moment I plopped down the attendant offered me a glass of champagne or evening mimosa along with my dinner menu. Unfortunately, the fact that I don’t turn 21 for another month and we were still on U.S. soil meant the only thing I would be sipping on for the next 8 hours was some chilled orange juice. I felt like I was in a 5 star restaurant when the attendant draped the placemat and napkin across my foldout table before offering me an assortment of breads. First course consisted of grilled shrimp and pineapple with a balsamic salad of berries and pine nuts. The main course was a braised short rib with red wine reduction sauce, cauliflower mash, and spiced carrots. As if I wasn’t full enough (I might have eaten a Cuban sandwich on the way to the airport as well #sorryimnotsorry), the dessert trolley had its eyes locked on me and I couldn’t say no. My fully loaded ice cream sundae put me in the perfect state to close my eyes and drift off into gaga land, but for the next three hours my body seemed to do everything possible to keep me awake. Finally, I switched on the movie Silver Linings Playbook and went to work on my research paper until our eventual arrival in London.

I was extremely nervous to go through customs even though I had nothing to hide. The fact that I didn’t fill out the right papers and had to venture back to my gate to get them didn’t help either. My saving grace came when I saw the sign with my name on it for the car my mom booked to take me to my new home. The thought of trying to find my own way through public transit with two huge suitcases across the city was completely terrifying.

Stepping into my flat, my first thought was “How are 5 girls going to fit all their clothes and luggage into this teeny space?” Well….we’re still working on it! Managing to unpack as much as I could, I knew I had to go meet the rest of the group for an area walk, but my body just wanted to pass out. I’ve heard about jetlag, but you don’t actually know how much it kills until you experience it. I needed sleep and a decent meal ASAP.

Just strolling the surrounding streets I know this is going to be an amazing experience. Everywhere I look I see the history of London in the buildings, landmarks, and architecture. And what makes it even better is that the other students are so open and ready to explore the city. I love being around people with the same excitement to eat, live, and breathe new things.

It wasn’t until we all went shopping for UK phones that I encountered my first hiccup of the trip…I arrived with all my cash in the form of euros. This isn’t so great when London’s currency rate is pounds. Running on zero fuel and about 2 hours of sleep for the past 48 hours I was ready to breakdown. Thankfully, the situation worked itself out and I was going to make it through.

IMG_3025

It was only fitting to end Day One at the pub around the corner, since this is the English’s equivalent of going out for coffee or meeting up with friends. Though, I went with water instead of a pint of cider, my chicken sandwich was heavenly on its own. It may have been that I hadn’t eaten for about 7 hours, but my plate was wiped clean within 5 minutes. Not wasting any time, I wondered back to the flat and hit my bed hard for the next 10 hours before our big orientation day.

Leave a comment